And then there were 2, and then there were 3, and then….

Jesus once told the story of a man that sowed good seed in a field.  That night His enemy came and sowed weeds amog the wheat.  His servants wanted to pull the weed out, but He stopped them from doing so.  He said the following: 

Mat 13:29  “No,  he answered,  because as you gather the weeds you might pull up some of the wheat along with them.”

And then, when harvest time came, the master decided what to do.

I’ve been on the internet for a long time now and one thing that amazes me is the venom between denominations and christians.  I have seen arguing and fighting on just about anything.  I’ve seen christians becoming tired of defending their faith and their way of doing, agaist other christians.  I’ve seen christians losing their faith because of this. 

Pulling out the weeds.  What was it that Jesus said in Mat 13:29?  Do not pull out the weeds?  What took place in that field?  Ordinary, everyday growing.  Among the weeds.  The master was not too concerned about the weed.  It was His decision to do what, when.  But we… pull out wheat and do not care. 

This is a fact.  “We are losing more christians because of christians than because of atheists. 

 There is only one church.  The church of Jesus.  It is His.  But we split it into a thousand bits and call each part  “the church”.  My church against yours.  Comedian Emo Phillips had a good grip on us when he told this.

I was walking across a bridge one day, and I saw a man standing on the edge, about to jump off. So I ran over and said, ‘Stop! Don’t do it!”
“Why shouldn’t I?” he said.
I said, “Well, there’s so much to live for!’
He said, “Like what?”
I said, “Well, are you religious or atheist?”
He said, ‘Religious.”
I said, “Me too! Are you Christian or Buddhist?”
He said, “Christian.’
I said, “Me too! Are you Catholic or Protestant?”
He said, “Protestant.”
I said, “Me too! Are you Episcopalian or Baptist?”
He said, ‘Baptist!”
I said, “Wow! Me too! Are you Baptist Church of God or Baptist Church of the Lord?’
He said, “Baptist Church of God!”
I said, “Me too! Are you Original Baptist Church of God or are you Reformed Baptist Church of God?”
He said, ‘Reformed Baptist Church of God!”
I said, ‘Me too! Are you Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1879, or Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1915?”
He said, “Reformed Baptist Church of God, Reformation of 1915!’
I said, “Die, heretic scum!” and pushed him off.

Very funny.  But true and sad.

Dan at Cerulean Sanctum echo’s this as well with his post “Same As It Ever Was, Same As It Ever Was…

 Joh 17:21  “I pray that they may all be one. Father! May they be in us, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they be one, so that the world will believe that you sent me.”

Jesus

Then again, maybe Jesus wasn’t serious when He prayed this.  How can I say that?  We were one, but then two, and then three and then…

2 thoughts on “And then there were 2, and then there were 3, and then….

  1. I’ve been thinking about posting something along these lines myself, so very true. I loved the illustration, I got to the end pretty much expecting it, but laughed out loud anyway! I don’t know why people have to feel like they are right and anyone with any differences must be wrong & therefore not part of “us”. It’s sad. There are some tenets of faith we can’t negotiate on because they are the fundamentals of Christianity (ie. salvation through Jesus) but all the rest is between a believer & God! I believe in the “We might not agree, but I love you because we are family in Him & both made to be like Him….” what else matters?

  2. I saw your response to Erin on Decompressing Faith, and decided to check out your blog. The things you said mirrored alot of my views. So if interested, check out my blog and see if anyone in the neighborhood is to your liking. If not, that is fine too.

Leave a Reply

