In the beginning (part 3)

Let’s get practical. How does a life in Jesus look like? I hope you don’t want the principles again.  I know what it looks like for me.   I have no idea what it will be like for you.  I will share a little bit of my journey. But it is MINE. If you want one, go find your own. I know I sound selfish. You are born into this family, but it is you who will have to recognize the voice of your Papa. It is you who have to learn to crawl. Your christian parents will take care of your crap and guide you because they love you. It is you who have to learn to walk. By the way. You will fall during this process.  You family will try to be there every step of the way. Loving you enough, not to come between you and our Father. And sometimes they will fail you. They will disappoint you. But you are stuck with them. You are family.

What happened with us (my wife and I) were a realization that there has to be more of God that we were experiencing. The question that kept nagging was; “Is this it?” We stopped going to the organized part of church. Then went through a time where nothing was happening. A most depressing time. A struggle of nothingness. What do we have to offer Him? Mmmmm, nothing??

“Come to the quiet,” I would call it. A place where we found out how self-centered we were. A place where we had to acknowledge that we did not know Him very well, if at all. There is a second part of “come to the quiet”. That would be “and rest.” How difficult can that be? Very. No direction. No vision. Just us and Jesus. We read some books. Talked to friends.

Slowly Jesus became visible in our everyday lives. In the friendships. In the caring for-and by friends. The need for surety died. We did not know where Jesus was going with us, but it did not matter. He began changing us from the inside out. We found that we have more grace for people. And more grace for ourselves. How did Wayne Jocobson put it? Living loved. Church became a matter of being, and not doing. How did Jesus put it?

Joh 7:37 And in the last, the great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried, saying, `If any one doth thirst, let him come unto me and drink;
Joh 7:38 he who is believing in me, according as the Writing said, Rivers out of his belly shall flow of living water, (We can only give what we have, because of what we are.)

(How do you put something into words that you did not think out, or consciously do, but it happened anyway?) Jesus became more, and in that process we became more “real”. And this is not something I can produce. This is a natural outflow of living in Him and He in you/me. Everything becomes holy, because He permeates life. We begin to love, because He loves. It is His doing.

Have we arrived? Are you kidding? Jesus is too much mystery for us to comprehend. And that is OK. He told us to rest, didn’t He?

One thought on “In the beginning (part 3)

  1. Awesome.
    This is what I’ve discovered, too.
    No more behaviour management…no more following rules…just Jesus. Where He walks, I follow.
    I want to live a life as Beloved of God. Nothing else will do.
    Thank you for putting word to this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

