Dilemma

We have a loose fellowsip on Sundays evenings and we usually go to the home of our friends Karl and Saroné.  Well, Saroné is sensitive to the people around her and she has a dilemma.  She wrote to me about it in the comments of my post Tempted into doing what we’ve always wanted to do.  You can read her comment here.

 What happens when you are in a fellowship and all the parties do not agree on a lot of stuff?  Where does it place the people who do not really have made up their minds on what they believe?  And what about the people who have made up their minds?  Do they have permission to speak what they believe?  Is it necessary for the fellowship to agree on everything?  What keeps such a fellowship together?  

I thought I would open it up to everybody that reads this blog for some input.  I’ve asked her permission.  What would you do in her position?  Here is my response.

To Saroné,

if we condense the message of Jesus into three centences, it would probably be these three.

Mat 22:37  Jesus answered, ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’
Mat 22:39  The second most important commandment is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as you love yourself.’
Joh 15:12  My commandment is this: love one another, just as I love you.

All my life there were 2 choices.  Right or wrong.  But during the past 6 years a new choice came into my life namely…LIFE/JESUS/LOVE.  Now I believe certain things.  Some of our friends believe different things.  Sometimes totally opposite things.  Does that matter?  Not to me.  What matters to me is “Can I love them as Jesus loves me?”  My choice is not right or wrong.  My choice is LOVE. 

Now I do believe strongly in the stuff I believe in, but it is a pale comparison to the person in front of me.  The person in front of me is loved by God.  Does God only love those of us with the right belief system?  I hope not, otherwise I am screwed.

My advice, don’t choose.  As with the choice between right and wrong, you do not have to choose between what I believe or what our friends believe. Find Jesus, but don’t go to Him for wisdom.  Don’t go to Him for knowledge.  Don’t go to Him for assurance.  Don’t go to Him in order to find the right belief system.  Go to Him, because He loves you.  Find rest in that.(This can take a while.)  Write me a post on why you are God’s favorite person in the whole wide world.  What’s your name on the white stone?  (Rev 2:17)(I asked, but I do not want to know.)

Please, for the love of God, don’t believe what I believe.  I cannot give you what is only available to you, in Jesus.  You are this tree, grass, birdy, mother, wife, arty, mountain person.  Love us then, as only a tree, grass, birdy, mother, wife, arty, mountain person can do.  Love us, as the broken people we are.

5 thoughts on “Dilemma

  1. Well Nestus, prepare to be tested on this 😉 . I personally hope that the “loose” fellowship becomes “tighter” not in the sense of formal, just closer so that something like just could crush the grapes into wine.
    You are brave man…

  2. Abmo, I think you said it so well. For me it always comes back to the two trees in the garden. We can eat off of the tree of knowledge of good and evil or we can eat off of the tree of Life. Most of Christians spend out lives eat the GOOD fruit from the tree of knowledge. It is “good,” but it’s good death! It is not LIFE!

    As one who has been in home churches, cell churches, and small group meetings for over two decades, I can tell you that if people want to eat off the wrong tree, the group will not last. It will eventually divide and split or disintegrate completely. I’m one who ate off the wrong tree for far too many years. So, Saroné, choose life and love. You will never go wrong with that path, no matter the outcome.

    Grace to you,
    Tracy

  3. Saroné

    I go with Nes on this. Don’t try to choose between us and them, because even though we believe differently, there is no us and them. Just continue looking for Jesus.

    Oh, and don’t worry, we know the fact that you are soft spoken does’nt mean that you do not have firm and strong feelings and believes.

    Love you
    Anette

  4. I agree with Nes. I have met a lot of people that really love the Lord and walk with Him and .. guess what … they do not all agree about a lot of things. They do love the Lord though and that is my advice to Sarone as well. Go to the fellowship and talk to the people but walk your own walk with the Lord. If you get confused by what other people say, go to the Lord and ask Him for clarity. Your ARE His child and CAN hear His voice!!!! He loves talking to you and WILL give you peace. Remember, we are on an adventure with Him. It is not suppose to be boring but full of live and zest …

  5. Howdy!

    WORDPRESS says that our two blogs (at least our most recent posts) are related, so I came by to check you out. I can certainly make a case for a relationship. Please stop by my place and let me know what you think (and maybe add Jesus + Compassion to your blog roll so we can stay connected).

    God bless you!

    Cd

Leave a Reply

