Jesus gives Himself

(This post was impossible for me to write.  When it comes to the mystical, I struggle with words.  My friend Christo will say it much better than I do.)

If there is one thing I’ve learned on this journey is that I am selfish.  I’ll do good things when it suits me.  That is why I need Jesus so much in this journey.  I need His life to flow through me towards others.  I need to be in Him.  In John 15, Jesus says this: Those who remain in me, and I in them, will bear much fruit; for you can do nothing without me.

Jesus has not stopped giving His life.  If you ever wonder why Jesus is such an obsession with me, it is this.  We need the life of the One who started it all and He gave His life in living and in dying and then in living again.  It is not something we can learn from Him.  It is something that He can do through us when the mystery of “Christ in us” happens.  He can do this, because He is alive.  When I am in situations where I sin (for instance- I lose my temper etc. etc.), I do not think to myself  “I must be more patient. Next time I’ll try harder not to lose my temper.”  No, I turn to Jesus and tell Him I need Him desperately.   I need more of Him. 

In the “I AM” sayings of Jesus, we can see that “He is it”.  He did not come to give us bread.  “He is the bread.”  He did not come to show us a way.  He is the Way.  He did not come to show us a truth.  He is it.

John 6:35 And Jesus said unto them, I AM THE bread of life: he that cometh to Me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.  John 10:9 I AM THE door

John 8:12 Then spoke Jesus again unto them, saying, I AM THE light of the world: he that followeth Me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I AM THE way, the truth, and the life

John 15:1 I AM THE true vine

Revelation 1:17 And when I saw him, I fell at his feet as dead. And He laid his right hand upon me, saying unto me, Fear not; I AM THE first and the last:

Revelation 22:16 I Jesus have sent mine angel to testify unto you these things in the churches. I AM THE root and the offspring of David, and the bright and morning star.

John 11:25 Jesus said unto her, I AM THE resurrection, and the life

We, the church, is the vehicle of a Jesus who still gives His life away.  When we touch people, Jesus touches them with eternity.  When we hug people, Jesus brings comfort.  When we cry with people,  Jesus mourns with them.  When we play with people, all heaven shakes because of a Jesus that jumps up and down.  We are not called to be something, but to contain Someone.  And that Someone gives Himself to everybody.

3 thoughts on “Jesus gives Himself

Leave a Reply

