Speaking of birthdays

It may have been my 39th birthday on Friday, but in blogland I am officially one year old.  (How old is that in human terms?)

It’s been a great blog journey thus far.  I enjoy the writing, but I have to admit, for me it’s tough.  I’m not a wordy person.  And I type with 2 fingers.  As I’ve said before, I believe that all the christian talk(to which I am adding) smothers the life of Jesus.  Sometimes, this makes me depressed and cynical.  During such times I tend to stay away from writing.  But I love the church and I love to share the journey.  Because of Jesus, we are all connected.  We are not alone. 

I think this is one of the reasons why I blog.  When Anette and I started on this journey, we felt very much alone.  There were no guidelines for us to follow.  We did not have the 10 point plan of what to do.  Sometimes I would lay awake, questioning if we were not deceiving ourselves and wondering if we were not starting on a slippery slope that will lead us away from God.  People would ask us why they don’t see us “in church” any more.  Our explanation left them looking funny at us 🙂 You know the frown with the “oh-you’re-one-of-those-people” looks.  Yes, dammit “we” were now a “them”.  But we were not alone.  A lot of us share the same journey or asks the same questions.  It is comforting to know that there is quite a few fellow stumblers 🙂

Please join me in my rambling rumblings as I share some my posts that made an impact on me the last year.  Where do I begin?

Perhaps with this post on the 101 of discipleship.  I think discipleship is totally lost in the church today and we are seeing the results of that.  Then in December I asked what the difference was between our love and God’s love.  I loved how the post changed while I was writing it.  The devil has a way to hurt us and then make us believe that it is our fault.  He asks us “What have you done?”  I shared my faith heroes.  The three posts that took the most out of me was “When I am weak“. (part 1), (part 2), (part 3), especially part 3 where I cried throughout writing the post.  I have a lot of sympathy for Peter 🙂 There was the one who did not obey Jesus and somehow Jesus was very much impressed with him.  I talked about the temptations that will come across us in the church, especially when we want to do good things for God.  This post together with the one on God’s judgement is the most read posts on my blog.  How many people do we have to reach in our lifetime to grow God’s kingdom?  What would your number be?  A lot of our writing is about the loss we experienced when we left the organized part of church, but what have we gained?  Watch out when God is bigger than our perception of Him 🙂 I can see dead people and I tried to explain love.  I asked some of you what it will look like after a city “has been won for Jesus“.   I’ve even made William P. Young, author of the Shack, grin with “My discernment will kick your discernment’s ass.”  I’ve asked “what God is this?”  God permeates this world, but we miss Him because we only look where we expect Him to beScripture can be used and finally I started to debunk some of the sentences we throw at people to make us look good.

Well, that was my trip through memory lane.  Thanks for the past year and the commentaries you guys left behind.  I appreciate it a lot.

7 thoughts on “Speaking of birthdays

  1. I wrote a response to this post and it was so long that I decided to post it at my site. It will say thanks much better than a simple Happy One Year of Blogging!

  2. Hi Barb,
    thanks, I will treasure your response-post for always.
    May the LORD bless you and keep you;
    May the LORD make His face to shine upon you and be gracious to you;
    May the LORD lift up His countenance upon you and give you peace.

    Amen

  3. Greetings Abmo,

    I just discovered your blog from over at Barb’s site. I eagerly look forward to getting to know you.
    I loved what you offered Barb as she stepped through the portal of grace into a new and wonderful discovery of Papa’s heart that was reserved and waiting for her.

    Rich

  4. Hi Richard,
    glad you came by. You’ll have to excuse me, I’m a bit slow when it comes to replying. I’ve been to your blog. Can you tell me what happened between 2006 and 2007, because you suddenly started to blog a lot more 🙂

Leave a Reply

