What kind of people are we?

Our view of God is mostly influenced by His largeness.  He is this big, gigantic, huge, massive, enormous, vast, giant of a Being.  The Bible also says that He is love.  From our viewpoint, this vastness plus the fact the He loves puts Him in a place where we expect one thing from Him.  He MUST give.  According to our want.  What good is He if He does not give me what I want?  He SHOULD provide.  He should make my life easier should He not?  Sure, I will worship my ass off, sing songs till I am blue in the face, give all I have to the poor and do what He wants me to do, but I EXPECT something in return.  I WANT inner peace.  I WANT healthy children.  I WANT a fair life.  Why else should I follow these rules?  Just to get nothing?  In all of this there must be something somewhere in this for me.  You want me to be friendly?  Sure I’ll be friendly, but where is my reward?  I don’t do this for zilch you know.  Where is my return?

I know I sound crude in the above paragraph, but test yourself.  Somehow God should do something in your life.  He should do certain God-like things.  This means one thing.  When He is in our company, He can never just Be or be Himself.  We do not allow Him to be who He is, because then there is a possibility that I may just get Him and nothing more.  Where are the perks? 

Sometimes I believe God must be the loneliest Person of us all.  Does He have any needs or wants?  Do we even care about that or for that matter; do we care about Him at all?  Is there someone around who will love Him for who HE IS?  Not for what He can give us, but for who He is.  Can I stick up my hand and say, “God no matter what, I will be your friend.  Even though the fig tree should not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food, the flock be cut off from the fold and there be no herd in the stalls, I will be your friend.”  Can He rely on us?  Can we be trusted to be a friend to Him or are we the fair-weather-sort-of-friend?  Do we really love Him?

What kind of a person am I?  Am I the kind that makes friends with the rich in the hope that I will invited for the feast?  Do I despise the lowest because there is nothing in it for me?  Jesus came as the lowest of the low and somehow there were people that came to love Him, not for what He did for them, but for whom He was.  “Peter, do you love Me?”  Sheesh, why that question?  Because it matters to Him, that’s why.

11 thoughts on “What kind of people are we?

  1. Britt and I read your post this morning. It again is one of those that leave you sitting there saying, “Wow, I never thought about it this way before.” I don’t believe I’ve ever seen this from this perspective. As a sideline to your post, I am wondering about applying it to a question that I had from Sunday. Yesterday during the time of singing the leader was leading the people to sing over and over again ‘Holy are you Lord.’ Holy was sung over and over. I wondered then to myself why we do this. Does God really like us saying that he is Holy to him? Is this a good thing to sing or is he wanting us to press onto something else/more?

  2. “Sometimes I believe God must be the loneliest Person of us all.” I’ve thought that too, that is until I began to get a better understanding of the Trinity; The community in God that has always existed.

    All that aside, I do get what you are saying though. We are all too often in it for the goodies (or to avoid hell), and not all that interested in relationship.

  3. Hi Stephen,
    thanks, I’ve also read her post and it was wonderful. I’m glad to have been part of a duet for you 🙂

    Hi Barb,
    Sometimes I lie in my bed and then the question comes to me. “Does God have any friends.” What will His answer be? Can I be counted as a friend with no strings attached? Can God depend on me? I would like to say yes, but I know myself a little bit 🙂 Perhaps this is the next part of my journey with Him.
    On your question on worship, I am going to come back to you on that one. I have to organize my thoughts a little bit.

    Give my regards to Britt and the rest of the family. God bless.

  4. This is a great post. It is what I have wanted to be – His friend. I haven’t done a snag-up job at it, but thanks to friends (like you, for instance), I am learning that to be His friend, I first have to really understand that He is my friend: that He likes me and I can trust Him. My view of Him has always be through the lens of what my parents were like. Has made it hard to trust Him. But He understand and is so patient. We are getting there…

  5. Great post. I have often wondered how many people would actually care to call themselves Christians if they didn’t believe in a God that was their sugar daddy.

  6. Hi Rick, yes, God is not lonely. I was just wondering how we treat our best Friend. Can we really see Him through all the goodies we expect Him to give us. Can we see His heart?

    Hi Sarah, also a yes, we would love it if God was a commodity. We could trade Him over and over for the stuff we really want.

    To Katherine, I like the word snag-up. We should use it more often 🙂 Learn from His patience. That way you will be patient with yourself also. Oh, snag-up, I just found out I have to work this weekend!

    Hi Mark, I think very few of us would do that if there was no reward in the pipeline.

  7. This is exactly what I have been posting about lately.. the whole ‘what’s in it for me attitude’ of today’s generation. I have been one of those but things are changing for many people I think! WE have life in Christ and that should be enough but we want want want and it is sad..

    A friend of mine made me ask myself a very important question a year ago.. she said ask yourself,”if God never answered my prayers and if I never felt him being around, if I never got anything from God, would I still love and follow him.” That was a tough question to ask myself but I think it’s a good one!

  8. Hi Getting There,
    it does say something about our generation. I like your friend’s question and it is a tough one to answer. Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

