Election day

election

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, today is the big day.  I hope that everyone in The States will go and vote.  I’ll be glad when this is over, but I think the debates will go on for quite a while after this election.  Molly had a post on the election the other day and the number of responses were amazing.  It seems that the christians are a lot more devided in this election than the previous one. 

From an outsider’s perspective, I think the conservatives in the church made a huge mistake when they decided Bush is God’s man.  He is incredibly unpopular outside the United States and it seems not so popular in the States as well.  I think John McCain would have had a great chance if Bush was not the Republican leader before him.    I also think that this election may put the conservative right(the ones shouting from the pulpit) at a crossroad of becoming irrevelant.  In Bush you gave the world a very poor example of christianity.  Every candidate you support from now on, will be met with distrust.  If you wanted Obama to loose, you should have endorsed him 🙂

Who will win?  It seems Obama will, but McCain has come back from behind more than once.  Whatever happens, I’ll pray for your country and your leaders.  May God bless you all.

3 thoughts on “Election day

  1. Hi Abmo. Thanks for checking in on me. Yes, we voted, and not for the winner. 😉 But, I think in some ways this might be best for our country. While I don’t agree with Obama’s policies, I think we need a wake-up call in more ways than one. I don’t like seeing all the hope that people are placing in a new president to fix all of our ills, and I expect disillusionment because there is only so much the government can do (even if the “right” people are in power, and who really knows who THEY are?) Hopefully there will be much soul-searching on all sides, but especially those who supported Bush and then experienced the biggest growth of government in many years, alongside his other mistakes.

    At any rate, I am doing pretty well. I am writing, but mostly in a journal these days. I have several hefty blog posts in the works but they are taking me much time and processing and praying before I will be able to post them. My husband is working on a new blog template for me, perhaps when that is up I will feel more inspired to write more often? 😛

    How are you?

  2. Hi Coldfire,
    I’m glad you liked it 🙂 It does say a lot about modern day christianity, doesn’t it? We believe Jesus wants us all nice and pleasant in order to live peaceful lives where everyting is just so… nice. We especially try to domesticate Jesus to a point where He won’t disturb such nice people as us. Just think…with Jesus we can have a nice house, nice car, nice children, nice neighbours, nice in-laws etc.etc.

    Oh well. Back to real life. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

