Nobody noticed

Sometimes I think Jesus was a genius.  Well of course He is… He is the Son of God…DU!!!

I’m talking about the Kingdom of God.  The Israelites knew all about kingdoms.  They had their own for a short while.  They knew the Egyptian one from long ago.  The Babylonian one was still with them.  The Roman Empire came by.  They definitely knew all about kingdoms.  Having your own meant you were the boss.  Not having one meant you were on the lower end of the food chain.  Even the devil knew about kingdoms.  The obvious way to freedom was to have your own.  The the only way to have your own, or to hang on to your own, is through a lot of effort and lots of fighting.

Then one day a Baby was born.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Why did you have to look for me? Didn’t you know that I had to be in my Father’s house?
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
But if anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
I AM the way, the truth, and the life
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Follow me, and I will make you become fishers of men
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
I AM the true vine
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Our Father in heaven
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
You cannot serve God and money
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Take heart, my son; your sins are forgiven.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
If I only touch his garment, I will be made well.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Stretch out your hand
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
I am the good shepherd.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
a bruised reed He will not break, and a smoldering wick He will not quench,
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
The kingdom of heaven is like a grain of mustard seed that a man took and sowed in his field
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
The kingdom of heaven is like leaven that a woman took and hid in three measures of flour, till it was all leavened
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
I do not say to you seven times, but seventy times seven
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
So the last will be first, and the first last
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
But whoever would be great among you must be your servant,
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
For they preach, but do not practice.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
I AM the door
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
For I was hungry and you gave Me food, I was thirsty and you gave Me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed Me,
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Take, eat; this is my body.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Drink of it, all of you, for this is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Lazarus, come out.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Let him who is without sin among you be the first to throw a stone at her.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Neither do I condemn you
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
If anyone thirsts, let him come to me and drink.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
I am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in Me, though he die, yet shall he live, and everyone who lives and believes in Me shall never die.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Whoever has seen Me has seen the Father
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
And they crucified Him and divided his garments among them,
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do.
And … no one noticed a new kingdom
It Is Finished!
And … no one noticed a new kingdom

The devil probably noticed that something was happening, but he probably was thinking most of the time. “WTF”  (For those of you that don’t know, the Christian version would be,”Oh my goodness, what’s going on here?)

Leo Tolstoy wrote a book called “The Kingdom of God Is Within You”.  What a title.  Dallas Willard said that each of us have our own little kingdom and I agree with him.  We all have this small space where we rule.  Jesus came, and without anyone noticing it, established the Kingdom of God here on earth.  One that works the opposite of all our earthly kingdoms.  He does the same within our little kingdoms.  Question – “Will we notice it?”   The thing with a kingdom is that it means freedom.  I can do what I want, when I want.  Money and power are some of the best means to help me to be free.  Jesus however said “Seek first the kingdom of God.”  The kingdom of God implies God is the ruler.  Do I really want that in my life?

And then
I start to notice a glimpse here and a hint there.  God is here!!  And it strikes me.  If the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed!

The devil is probably still going “WTF” 🙂

3 thoughts on “Nobody noticed

Leave a Reply

