I’m one of them

This seems a cheerful world, Donatus, when I view it from this fair garden, under the shadow of these vines. But if I climbed some great mountain and looked out over the wide lands, you know very well what I would see-brigands on the high roads, pirates on the seas; in the amphitheaters men murdered to please applauding crowds; under all roofs misery and selfishness. It is really a bad world, Donatus, an incredibly bad world. Yet in the midst of it I have found a quiet and holy people. They have discovered a joy which is a thousand times better than any pleasures of this sinful life. They are despised and persecuted, but they care not. They have overcome the world. These people, Donatus, are the Christians – and I am one of them. – Cyprian (?-258), a letter

3 thoughts on “I’m one of them

  1. Nothing to do with this Post – but if anybody can – A KIWI CAN!!! (I hope) Too big, too strong, too fast!!! Have I spoken too soon? Super 14 trophy remains in the land of the long white cloud.

  2. Next morning … just read the score … I hang my head in shame Ambo and seek forgiveness for my stupidity. As Donatus said – I am one of them.

  3. Hey Mark, never hang your head in shame. The Kiwi’s always play beautiful rugby. It was just one of those days. That said, the bulls played near perfect rugby đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

