But I have nothing to give

Yes, you have, but I’m getting ahead of myself. Some people I meet, tell me that they want to do some kind of missionary work or want to do “something”. I usually tell them to go. Then the excuses start. They do not speak well. What will they do when they get there? The unknown is always scary and I can sympathize with that. Here is some advice. Connect with people that are already in the field and tag along. And when you get there…Be a servant. Wash the dishes. Clean the floor. Plant some flowers. Look for opportunities to help out and serve.

If you come to South Africa, come to love. Be ready to hold children. God gave you two arms. Use them to show love. You may think that this is too simple, but it’s not. Bill Kinnon’s daughter and her best friend were here in South Africa teaching art at an orphanage. You can read all about it on their blog, but there is one post I want you to read. It’s called “A giggle of joy”. Look at the pic. That is what you CAN do. I will never forget the first day when Anette(my better half), came home and told me she had to “teach” the mother of a 15 year old boy how to hug him. As in “this arm goes here, that hand should hold there. His head should be here.” In 15 years he has never been hugged. In 15 she never told him that she loved him. He was not the exception. We have 10 year olds running households because the parents died of AIDS. I’m very sure they need a hug or two.

So there you have it. You have enough to give. Come anytime.

hug

One thought on “But I have nothing to give

Leave a Reply

